Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Moon Area High School 2017 Honors Night

Honors Night

The 2017 High School Honors Night held on Thursday, May 11, marked the 58th year Moon Area High School (MAHS) students have been recognized for their academic honors. Honors Night is presented by the MAHS Parent Teacher organization (PTO) along with the high school.

Students were recognized as scholar athletes, honors, high honors, and exemplary students amongst various designations. This year, 78% of student athletes were honor roll students. Of the 293 students in the MAHS class of 2017, 100 students received scholarships or awards and 216 were classified as scholar athletes.

We are very proud of how hard all MAHS students have worked this year to excel academically!




Class of 2017 scholarships and awards presented at Honors Night:


  • Leaders of Tomorrow Award on behalf of Congressman Tim Murphy: Isabella Montanaro
  • WPIAL Scholarship: Emma Thomas
  • Army Scholar/Athlete Award: Jake Ferringer, Emma Thomas
  • Army ROTC Full Scholarship: Jake McKee
  • Spirit Awards: Sudhee Acharya, Max Hurley, Kayli Lemieux, Maria Mariani, Justin Miller, Rachel Muti
  • Moon Area Senior Citizens Association 19th Annual Scholarship to Seniors: Hannah Casasanta
  • Moon Education Association Scholarship: Hannah Casasanta
  • First Annual Michael Trella Foundation Scholarship: Jarrod Simmons & Trevonn Carter
  • Moon Township Garden Club Scholarship: Max Hurley
  • Dr. Elizabeth Zona Impact Scholarship: Madison Crago
  • W.G. Eckles Architecture & Engineering Firm Scholarship: Sarah Connors & Ryan Finnegan
  • United States Marines Awards:
    •             Distinguished Athlete Award: Sean Kelly
    •             Scholastic Excellence Award: Sean Kennedy
    •             Musical Excellence Award: Shawn Smith
  • The Wolves Club of Coraopolis Scholarship: Cameron Cavaliere, Hannah Jozwiak, Jonah Yurkovich
  • Rebecca Ferrari Scholarship: Hannah Jozwiak
  • Polesky Agency Scholarship: Grace Johnston
  • Sewickley Kiwanis Club Scholarship: Genevieve Denardo
  • West Air-Comm Federal Credit Union – Moon Township Office Scholarship: Brianna Geyer, Roberto Ledonne, Maria Mariani, Rachel Muti, Morgan Noyes
  • Questeq, Inc. Scholarship: Madison Crago
  • Clearview Federal Credit Union – Moon Township Growing with Community Scholarship: Janie Debrucky & Kaitlin Morrison
  • Society of Women Engineers Scholarship: Emily Vith
  • Masons of Coaraopolis Scholarship: Brianna Geyer
  • James W. Alexander Memorial Scholarship: Cameron Cavaliere & Ryan Finnegan
  • Jennifer Young Memorial Scholarship: Megan Meneskie & Michael Ferrone
  • Karen Waldron-Dickson Memorial Scholarship: Janie Debrucky
  • Excellence in Education Awards:
    •             Top Math Student: Sean Kennedy
    •             Top Science Student: Nikil Maheshwari
  • Perfect Attendance: Genna Aldridge, Sarah Connors, Nikhil Maheshwari, Cameron Pond, Rochelle Selzer, Emily Vith


View photo Gallery

Back to School News      Print News Article